Wind in the Willows!! @ Mayflower Southampton 

Mayflower Southampton production of Wind in the Willows!!! 

My first blogging event! 

This is my first blogging event and it could not be more up my street! I mean come on, drama graduate over here going to a theatre show!! Come on!! I went to the Mayfower Southampton with the Southampton bloggers to see Wind in the Willows and had such a good time! 


Thoughts coming up to the show:


I could remember watching Wind in the Willows when I was little but I couldn’t really remember the story. I knew it was about animals and the two character that stuck out in my head was the Badger and Mr Toad. 

Before heading to the show the main thing I was thinking about was the way they would do the production and make it believable. I mean the whole thing is based around animals and I was curious to see the way they would represent that.

I really didn’t know what to expect but I love musicals so I knew I would love it either way!! 

I walked in and there was already a great atomphere in the way the Mayflower staff were ready and waiting  and there was info and merchandise available everywhere! They gave us the programme to have a look over and the rehearsals pictures were really good! It really got me exited looking through the photos and watching all the audience begin to turn up! 

We walked in and got our amazing seats which had a fantastic view, I mean fantastic! I sat down and got so exited seeing the band and the curtain, just wanted it to start! 


After the show:


This show was the epitome of fun! 

First thing I would have to say is that this is a must see for families! The songs and story are so much fun and it is just a feel good show! The story is family friendly and kids would definitely fall in love with the characters like I did. 

The songs are perfect to sing along too and just get stuck in your head. The characters were just great fun too, especially Rufus Hound who played Mr Toad so well, very funny! This production is full of laughs and is thoroughly enjoyable. 

The show really involved the audience by opening it up in various ways. Some of the show allowed for the cast come Intro the audience with torches! It was just really funny and exciting having it involve us like that. 

I came out of the show feeling really happy as it is just a feel good classic kind of musical that just makes you leave feeling happy. 

The moving set for the show is really impressive, changing from the river bank to the woods to Mr Toads mansion so seemlessly! I have to give it to the set design! You really become submersed in the world they managed to create on stage and by the end you were really believing in these characters and their story. 
The costumes were perfect! Each character were dressed as humans but is a characteristic of there outfit to their animal, like Mr Toad in a green suit. 

My favourite costume was the one of the weasels! The weasels where dressed and gangsters and came with a sneaky sleazy quality. 


He had ears on his hat and a tail but the majority of his costume was based more around the stereotypical traits of a weasel, or what you think a person who is referred to a weasel would be like. 

He was great and threw himself into the character! 
I honestly had so much fun at this show and would highly recommend! Family friendly and great fun it would make a great evening out! You will come home laughing and feeling good as this performance really ends on a high! 

At the moment the show is on trail but if it comes to a city near you make sure to head over! It was so much fun and made a lovely evening! 

I really enjoyed myself because the cast was and the audience! It was a great atmosphere and just put a smile on everyone’s face! 

I would definitely see it again and it was so lovely throwing back to the Wind in the Willows but in such a fun and immersive way! 

What a great night! The Mayflower was great as always and the show was so much fun! I would say a must see! 🌸

Leave a Reply

