International women’s day!!

As it was international women’s day yesterday I thought what a perfect opportunity it would be to write a blog post on the women that inspire me and how important it is for women to be the backbone of all women.

I am very lucky to have an amazing support group of women in my life, from my Mum to my best friends. It is so important for women today to have a strong support from other women, to empower one another!

Support in women and young girls is something that I am really passionate about and women who inspire one another are the ones I look up too and respect so much.

support women

This is one of my favourite quotes, as it is so true! We are brought up in a world where women are taught to see each other as competitors but that really should not be the case. Women should be taught to stand together, if we did imagine the things each other could do.

The women in my life have always supported one another, and been there through the up’s and down’s through one another’s lives.

Now I am not saying that I don’t fight, have disagreements even say things I wish I hadn’t, but the point is that overall we support each other as women, different opinions and all. I mean, I am still human and coming from a generation where everything seems like a competition (especially on social media) I have thought things or even said things about other girls that maybe I shouldn’t have, I think we all do. What I mean is women need to stop seeing other women as enemies and start seeing each other as equal allies.

I don’t want to shove ideas and thoughts onto others, but women have fort for a long time to have the things we do today even if we still have some way to go. But one thing I don’t think they fought for was women tearing each other down. Yes we get jealous and yes we make mistakes, but that doesn’t mean we cannot support one another.

This is where having the women in our lives becomes so important.

support women 2

You can achieve anything but think of what you could achieve with a strong support system propelling you forward. Women still face a lot of adversity, even now in 2017. I am not saying that we are the only ones with problems, I am a strong believer in equality for men and women, but from a woman’s point of view I can have an opinion on female support. That is the reason for this post.

We  all have people that we look up to and inspire us and for my that is my mum and my friends.

My mum has been an amazing female figure to look towards, she is positive, smart and so passionate about everything she does. As a woman she is the perfect example of someone who goes out of her way to support her daughters and female friends. She isn’t someone to criticise other women, but is a listening ear and a smile with advice when needed.  Yes she may not always get it right, but she empowers me to do what I want in life and lets nothing get in my way especially not my gender.

Female friends are some of the best friends that a girl can have through her life and create one of the strongest bonds throughout the years! My girlfriends inspire me everyday, with their own lives and the support the bring to mine. Yes, it is not all pillow fights and ice cream, but it is a helping hand and plenty of laughter, even if sometimes that laughter can become screams. Girls do fight and have disagreements of course but ultimately these arguments can bring you closer and create a genuine relationship that becomes something to cherish. Even if we don’t always agree with each others decisions and mistakes, we don’t bash each other down for them, we help that person grow from it.

strong women we know

 

It is so important that women stand together and teach the younger generation of girls today that we are all each others sisters, mothers and best friends (no matter how cheesy that sounds). We should all see each other as queens and nothing less, no woman is better than another and if you think you are why aren’t you helping the other to better themselves? I love international women’s day, because we finally see how women should always be treating and supporting each other.

Stand together queens and make everyday International Women’s Day.

img_2745-19

Leave a Reply

