What feminism is to me…

This is my first post of this kind so I hope it’s alright! I want to put it the best way I can, so even though my writing may not be too great I hope to get what I mean across well 🙂

I never knew what feminism was, never thought about it and never really understood it. I think this goes for a lot of people, as there are so many different views and takes on feminism so it can all get a bit confusing! I think this is another reason I don’t want to be called a feminist because there are so many variations and connotations of the word! The thing is, I do believe I am one purely because of the way I view feminism. I just think being called a feminist can become a bit blurred because of everyone’s different takes on the subject. I’m not saying anyone’s view on this is wrong, this is just mine.

I first really began to understand what my thoughts on feminism were when I had to look into it for a university project…

I was placed into a group to create our own theatre company, we had to have an aim and an area of interest. Two of the girls suggest that we become a feminist theatre company as the dynamic of the group would make it very interesting (5 girls and 1 boy) therefore we could make some hard hitting thoughtful theatre. I am all for hard hitting theatre with a purpose but at the time I found the idea quite off putting. My first response, which now I find to be such an ignorant statement was “as long as it’s not all man hating”. If I heard someone say that now I would be the one rolling my eyes.


Luckily the girls I worked with understood where I was coming from because it is a view that so many people have on feminism, I mean I was one of them and it’s because I didn’t understand it. The pieces we began to work on were based about equality for men and women, yes men and women. We looked into subjects which effect both sexes and in some cases yes there is a big difference.

I can see why some people think feminism is all for women but it only seems this way because women are fighting for some notable equalities, such as pay and sexual assault. This doesn’t mean men do not suffer the same discrimination. Like I said for me feminism is equality for both sexes.

Now I’m not the type of person to shove this down peoples throats as it what I think not what others have too (I hope this isn’t too heavy a read). I just think that men and women should have equality, even things simple as a woman not being called a slut for wearing the clothing she likes, or a man being called a wimp for enjoying more so called ‘feminine’ things.

I just think people should be allowed to do what they want, live the way they want to with out so much judgement. Is that so much to want?

I can’t see equality as a bad thing, and I find it so bizarre that the word ‘feminist’ almost seems dirty to some people. Like I said there are many differny types of feminism and people have their own beliefs within it, but overall it does come back to equality in my eyes.

It’s not a bad thing to be a feminist and people shouldn’t feel bad to be one. I think it is a good thing to strive for and eventually I want there to be equality.

I find if quite funny sometimes when people ask me how I can be a feminist.

Now, I think this comes back down to people’s differny views and takes on feminism. I love make up and fashion and I enjoy making myself look and ultimately feel good. Some people see this as a weakness I suppose, because  as a woman I should be empowered and love the way I look…well I do, I mean we all have insecurities but I’m not ashamed of myself. The reason I wear make up and slightly change my appearance is because I enjoy it. I like buying make up and clothes and I do it for no one else but myself. This has nothing to do with me not being empowered in my own skin in actual fact I just simply want to do something I take enjoyment in.


I just think overal there should be mutual respect for men and women because we are all equal and that’s the way it should be. I remember I was criticised once for asking a man to open something for me. Now most of the time I really strive to be independent and ultimately I think I am or at least getting there, but in this case I just needed help from someone and it turned out to be a man. I think this is read into much to much sometimes, we can all help one another and be polite and it does not have to be sexist. I am a feminist but if a man opens a door for me he is being polite not misogynistic.

I hope I haven’t offended anyone,but I just wanted this to be a little insight to myself. I hope it was an enjoyable read and not too heavy!

Keep doing things that make you happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

