The Addams Family, MayFlower

Last night I had the amazing opportunity to attend the touring show of The Addams Family at the Mayflower Southampton, alongside the Southampton Bloggers!

I had seen this show advertised and when the chance came up to see this I jumped at the opportunity to review it! The show had an incredible cast including, Carrie Hope Fletcher, Samantha Womack and Les Dennis! Each and every character in the show held their own and created one of the best shows I have seen in a while.

programme

full cast

This show was full of laughter, love and a crazy family who kept the entire audience guessing! The costumes, set and beautifully portrayed characters created a whole world of bizarre on the stage, which is what The Adams Family is all about. This production brought this classic family back to life on the stage and I already want to see it again!

I cannot pin point one character that was my favorite as they all performed to their fullest. Normally I find there is one stand out performer that can really steal the show, but on this production I could not see a weak link anywhere! They were all completely professional and had outstanding talent, I could not fault them one bit!

 

 

The story itself was full of excitement, twist and turns and laughter! I was hooked from the moment I sat down and it continued to go up and up as it went on. The story is based around the character of Wednesday wanting to marry her ‘normal’ boyfriend Lucas. The show surrounded an evening of the two families meeting and attempting a ‘normal night’, well you can gather this didn’t go to plan. The show looks at love, family and relationships which all came together to create a wonderful show!

I can’t express enough how fantastic this show is and if you get the opportunity to see it GO!

The show runs for 2 hours 30 minutes approximately, and I was still wanting more by the end. The show is really amazing but you can’t be too surprised considering it is from the writers of multi award-winning hit musical JERSEY BOYS!

The original songs and live orchestra create a world throughout the theater and make you feel apart of this kooky family! The songs are so catchy they are still playing in my head and I am sure I will be humming them for weeks!

One of the best shows I have seen in a long time and I am so chuffed to have been invited along to see it in all its glory!

Make sure to grab some tickets!

Grace x

group bloggers

 

Leave a Reply

